Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 06-25-2003, 12:11 AM   #1
celtics3410
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PA... Home of the never-ending rain
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to celtics3410
Default Is this possible?

Can I write a VBscript or JavaScript function in the <HEAD> section, and then send a variable for the function to a dynamic textbox in Flash MX through a query string?

For example:

<embed src="testV3.swf?x=curDate"> where x would be equal the Now function in VBscript?
celtics3410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 09:27 PM   #2
black
flashing vampire
 
black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nowhere
Posts: 1,406
Default

why not consult some script languages such as ASP or PHP ? they can handle those affairs much easily~
__________________
Never end on learning~
black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2003, 03:20 AM   #3
celtics3410
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PA... Home of the never-ending rain
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to celtics3410
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by black
why not consult some script languages such as ASP or PHP ? they can handle those affairs much easily~
I'm fluent in ASP, but the top frame is all Flash. Unless I can somehow use ASP within Flash, then I need to know how to do it in ActionScript.
celtics3410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 07:17 PM   #4
celtics3410
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: PA... Home of the never-ending rain
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to celtics3410
Default

is it possible to use ASP within Flash? or PHP within Flash?

And also, is it possible to set relative sizes instead of absolute sizes? Having a 1024x768 SWF file can tend to lag quite a bit.. Plus if there was a way I could say something like Width=100% instead of Width=800 or Width=1024 it would be great.
celtics3410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2003, 07:42 PM   #5
tg
done
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: portland, or
Posts: 8,106
Default

it is possible to pass info into flash thru the src attribute like you originally posted, the variable will be in flash on the main timeline.
__________________
tg
---
what the hell was i thinking?
tg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:43 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.