Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 07-28-2003, 10:28 AM   #1
chicoP
throat neck
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 111
Default Best Vector conversion tool ?

What is the best tool to convert bitmaps to vectors ?
chicoP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 11:08 AM   #2
fgf
Registered User
 
fgf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: edinburgh
Posts: 673
Default

I normally just use flash but my graphicy cohorts say freehand is way better.

fgf
fgf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 11:50 AM   #3
sho shinjo
Senior Member
 
sho shinjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 344
Send a message via AIM to sho shinjo Send a message via Skype™ to sho shinjo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fgf
I normally just use flash but my graphicy cohorts say freehand is way better.

fgf
Yes, because of the macromedia family brand, and you do not get to many hick-ups when you copy and paste from FH to Flash or Flash to FH. I prefer to use Adobe Illustrator; I am just comfortable with it.
__________________
"Be and Think different"

-> www.brokedesign.com
-> facebook.com/brokedesign
-> twitter.com/andrettibrown
sho shinjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 03:07 AM   #4
Warrior
Victory Is Mine
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,233
Default

How can you convert Bitmap into Vector? Do you draw over the picture or there any other way
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 03:16 AM   #5
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

I think Phtoshop 7 does that too

warrior
this process is called TRACE bmp (same like Flash )
there are a seperate programs for that:

http://graphicssoft.about.com/cs/bitmaptovector/
http://www.prepressure.com/image/bitmapvector.htm

http://www.adobe.com/support/techdocs/27aa2.htm
__________________
‚€* GOD Is Near ‚€*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI

Last edited by farafiro; 07-29-2003 at 03:21 AM.
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 03:28 AM   #6
Warrior
Victory Is Mine
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,233
Default

Quote:
this process is called TRACE bmp (same like Flash )
How can Flash do that? I never new it can do that. I always thought you import it and draw over it. I am looking for a program to turn Bitmap into Vector automatically so I can import it into Flash easily. Is there such a program. It will help if it can be 3D as well
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 04:06 AM   #7
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

load the pic
select it
Modify> trace Bitmap
tadaaaaaaaaaaaaa
__________________
‚€* GOD Is Near ‚€*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 04:13 AM   #8
Warrior
Victory Is Mine
 
Warrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,233
Default

Thanks Farafiro but what do I do with the picture after that? The computer starts to go slowly and it may slow down the flash player. Also, how can I turn it 3D by another program.
Warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 04:33 AM   #9
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

tracing a bitmap reduse it's weight too much

even u can delet the bmp from the library after tracing it
u can play with the nums in the tracing box that appears and then do some artistic touch

and even better, u can import a QT video> export it as a BMP sequance> trace some pix of it> export them as a MC or a swf with these art tough
and see the difference in size it does
__________________
‚€* GOD Is Near ‚€*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 07:50 AM   #10
JHallam
Dosed...By Flash!
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: England - Nottm
Posts: 1,192
Send a message via Yahoo to JHallam
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by farafiro
tracing a bitmap reduse it's weight too much

even u can delet the bmp from the library after tracing it
u can play with the nums in the tracing box that appears and then do some artistic touch
It's not the greatest way too be honest, to my recognition anyway. When using graphics in flash I either create them right in Flash or if I import any graphical imagery, I do not trace it, resize it or anything possible which will change the file I have imported. That way seems to work great for me, I get great standard images.
__________________
[ JHallam | FOLIO.root | EMAIL.root
JHallam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:51 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.