Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 09-16-2003, 03:23 PM   #1
sean416

Default Font/symbol display problems

I'm using Flash 5and I'm pretty new to Flash and fonts in general. My site appears exactly as I want it to in Flash, but when I preview or publish, the text on my buttons disappears and a few of the buttons don't show up at all. Here's why I think it's happening:

1) There's a problem with my symbols. Maybe they aren't set up right in some way. Sorry I can't be more specific.

2) There's a problem with the text. The font I'm trying to use gives me problems in Illustrator - it says it can't be embedded and that it's protected or something. I'd rather not have to change the font, so if I don't have to I'd love to know how to avoid doing so.

3) I'm using scenes because I don't know anything about the alternative. It seems this is not the way to go based on what I'm reading in the forums.

I've searched the forums for help on this, but haven't found any answers. I would sincerely appreciate a couple tips!

Thanks very much,

Sean
sean416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2003, 04:06 PM   #2
sendres

Send a message via AIM to sendres Send a message via Yahoo to sendres

From your description it's a bit difficult to identify all that's going wrong here. For starters, are you using only static text or do you have dynamic text fields? How have you embedded your fonts? If you change the font to something standard like _sans, does the problem still occur?

You might want to post your .fla file so we can see what's going on.
sendres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2003, 02:04 AM   #3
sean416

The .fla is over 3 megs zipped, so I can't post it (wish I could). How do you embed fonts? What does that do? And it's static text, not dynamic.