Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > ActionScript 2.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2003, 12:48 AM   #1
Csneeky
/|-.-|\
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 110
Default textfield password prob?

ok, my textfields are not showing astericks when password is set to true. Just leaving the cursor at the beginning. When I trace the input though, it comes out correct. Could someone test thier textboxes with password = true to compare please?
Csneeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 04:34 AM   #2
Billy T
Oops I did it again
 
Billy T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,579
Default

works for me...are you creating the textbox via actionscript?

post your code or an fla example...

cheers
__________________
Billy
Online Galleries
iPhone Safety App - iStaySafe
Free Flash Video Tutorials
Photo Website Template

Don't email or PM me questions...
Billy T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2003, 04:11 PM   #3
Csneeky
/|-.-|\
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 110
Default

well, i'm away from my work for a couple days now, so i can't share a fla with you. But it isn't anything special. I was just "trying" stuff out with the new IDE. I simply put an imput text field on the stage. And i think the code probably went like this....
ActionScript Code:
// name of the text field is testText_txt // name of text field variable is testText_var // name of button is butt_btn this.testText_txt.password = true; this.butt_btn.onRelease = function(){      trace("password "+ testText_var); }
and the trace equals what i put into the text field, sans the astericks....
It's in the first frame of the main timeline, as vanilla as you can get. I just had a thought, I can't check it till I get back, but maybe it is because I didn't include astericks in the list of embedded characters? I don't know, but there is the code.
Csneeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2003, 04:59 AM   #4
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

huh
why r u using variable name andinstance names??
stick with the instance name
ActionScript Code:
_root.createTextField("testText_txt",1,10,10,300,20) testText_txt.border = 1 testText_txt.type = "input" this.testText_txt.password = true; this.onMouseDown = function(){         trace("password "+ testText_txt.text); }
__________________
€* GOD Is Near €*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.