Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 10-09-2003, 05:20 AM   #1
ttadder

Angry Multiple Movie Clips (external swf's) background loading??

I've been reading all the threads on preloaders, I got that concept, and I am a newbie to the actionscript releam, but understand a fair about. I do have a very special case that maybe some of you will be able to help with.

I am a photographer and I am built my own basic site, which is of course heavy because of the image content.

I have multiple sections that I built with seperate swf files and used loadMovie to bring them into a main.swf. That seemed to work okay but, each swf had its own preloader which made navigating the site lame. (you had to watch the little bar grow every time you moved sections.)

So I mushed the MC all into the main, but now my swf is 1.7mb, far to big!!!

reffering to my site http://www.timtadder.com

So what I've been trying to figure out for the past 7 hours is how to load maybe the first section (portraits) and while my user might be in that section load additional swf's in the background. that's one problem.

The next problem is what if my user decides to go to moments, before portraits. moments will not be loaded, and will need to be.

I'd like to find a way to load the movies in the background while the user enters the site and begins to cruise around,

Since the loadmovie command brings them in on levels, if I bring them in the overlap....

I'm really confused....

Please help....
ttadder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2003, 01:03 PM   #2
ttadder

Is anyone out there that can help? I'm going nuts:

confused:
Old 10-09-2003, 02:04 PM   #3
webguy

Send a message via ICQ to webguy Send a message via AIM to webguy

Well you already told us the answer to your problem.

which is of course heavy because of the image content