Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 10-20-2003, 11:56 PM   #1
Skinner
I Love Stockholm
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 206
Talking How to use listBox component

Hi just wanna shared this out. Some basic stuffs i had regarding saving and loading text.txt from a Floopy Drive.

Keyframe 1:
stop();
loadVariablesNum ("file:///A|/TextField.txt",0);
Selection.getFocus ("TextField"); // where TextField is the var

Button :
on(release){
fscommand ( "save", "A:\\TextField.txt" );
}

But Problem is:
*How can i prompt a message when it is done saving or floopy is not inserted ? Pls guide me heheh.

Last edited by CyanBlue; 06-02-2004 at 11:38 AM.
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 11:47 PM   #2
Skinner
I Love Stockholm
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 206
Default

Hi people,

Just wondering since Flash MX and 2004 cant support this fscommand 'save'...is there anyway way i can pass an argument to xml so i can save or load a .txt file from there?


Appreciate.

Skinner
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 08:52 AM   #3
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Howdy...

I don't think you can pass an argument from the Flash anymore... So, you cannot really use fscommand save to save data anymore unless you are working on F5...

Read this page for more information...
http://www.northcode.com/links/mxproject.html

The best way to do it would be using the server side script, but if that's not your option, IE only solution can be found here...
http://www.actionscript.org/forums/s...d.php3?t=44092
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 11:13 AM   #4
Skinner
I Love Stockholm
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 206
Default

Hey man thanks for the reply...very appreciate
and it will be perfect and solve everyone problems if that IE server side script can be work in Projectors (.exe).

Anyway i got some minor problems with listBox in MX.

I have this actually it creates .swf into it but wanted it to create .txt

ActionScript Code:
listArray = new Array (); for (i=1; i<=0; i++) { listArray.push ({label:"Slides" + i, data:"Slides" + i + ".txt"}); } this.attachMovie ("FListBoxSymbol", "newSlides", 18, {_x:18, _y:482}); this.newSlides.setSize (280,100); this.newSlides.setDataProvider (listArray); this.newSlides.setChangeHandler ("loadTXT"); function loadTXT (component) {  loadVariablesNum (component.getValue(), 0); }

Question is i wanted it to load .txt instead of .swf
and label were based on the txt file name.

Edit: OK i figured out half of it just have the problem for the listArray to push it.

Last edited by Skinner; 06-01-2004 at 11:47 AM.
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:46 PM   #5
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Half way done, then, right???
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 02:05 AM   #6
Skinner
I Love Stockholm
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 206
Default

hey man dang im stuck at the listArray

ActionScript Code:
listArray = new Array (); for (i=1; i<=0; i++) { listArray.push ({label:"Slides" + i, data:"Slides" + i + ".txt"}); }

How can i abstart the <filename>.txt filename and place into the listbox label? yet there will be more than 1 <filename>.txt with each different filename.

i have this but no idea how to continue on using LoadVars(); or perhaps u have better solution ?

ActionScript Code:
loadUser = new LoadVars(); loadUser.load ("user.txt");

Cheers
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 07:47 AM   #7
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Um... Can you post some workable sample???
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 08:24 AM   #8
Skinner
I Love Stockholm
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 206
Default

ops ok here you go the file...thank you.

the listBox located in keyframe 2 which i use the attachClip.

Edit: One.txt, Two.txt, & Three.txt is to be load into it and One, Two, & Three happens to be the name of the listbox label.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Login_MX.zip (129.7 KB, 215 views)
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 08:53 AM   #9
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Um... I am not fully getting it... What about this one???
(I was focusing on the listbox issue not the actual saving part...)

Let me know if it is actually going somewhere...
Attached Files
File Type: zip Login_MX.zip (114.6 KB, 204 views)
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2004, 09:05 AM   #10
Skinner
I Love Stockholm
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 206
Default

getting into it but not quite right....

The listbox label should be the filename of <filename>.txt
e.g Skinner.txt, CyanBlue.txt, or Jesse.txt and so on containing each individual respectively like this
Skinner
CyanBlue
Jesse
One
.
.
n

note the <filename>.txt will be different instead of building it up using i++ not asd1.txt -asdn.txt. Why? coz when save the <filename> will base on the user keyin name.

Last edited by Skinner; 06-02-2004 at 09:10 AM.
Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:31 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.