Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 07-10-2001, 12:36 AM   #1
Dave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 5
Default

Newbie needs a little help . I'm using a button to load a movie clip, but when the clip loads, it continues to loop until you press the button again. I'd like it to play just once when the button is pressed.

The button has this action script:

on (release) {
tellTarget ("_level2") {
gotoAndPlay (1);
}
}

The layer above the button layer is the actions layer with this:

loadMovieNum ("movingtext.swf", 2);

Movingtext.swf has two layers with two frames. The actions layer has

stop ();

in both frames.

The second layer is the moving text itself, which is a movie clip symbol.

What am I missing?

Thanks!!

DAVE
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2001, 01:33 PM   #2
chompos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14
Default stop action

I'm no expert but this should work:

add a stop action at the and of the movie clip and above the frame containing the movie clip
chompos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2001, 07:11 PM   #3
sky_doq
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Holland
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to sky_doq Send a message via Yahoo to sky_doq
Exclamation

Probably the main stage ( you know the very top of you flashmovie where it all starts, then NOT the loaded movie )

Has the the action in a frame to load the movie into itself, but you probably left out a stop action, so that the movie will constantly load the movie into itself.

But from this 'distance' I can't really tell waht the matter is, but I think it is what I mentionned above.

JJ
__________________
Fd lives for flash and food !!

<EMBED src="http://www.geocities.com/flashsite_jrj/footer4.swf" quality=high menu value=false width="300" height="40" bgcolor="#000000" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"></EMBED>
sky_doq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2001, 11:52 PM   #4
Dave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks chompos and sky_dog. Chompos's solution worked fine, though I need to do a little more tinkering. The movie clip no longer loops, but hitting the button after the clip is finished makes the text disappear. The next hit runs the clip again. That's not quite what I'm after, but I'll keep plugging away.

I think the biggest hurdle for someone new to Flash is referencing levels and managing nested timelines. I'm going to check out the tutorials on this site. Tutorial 23 looks particularly pertinent. (If you have any recommendations, I'd be much obliged.)

Thanks again.

DAVE
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2001, 02:52 PM   #5
sky_doq
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Holland
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to sky_doq Send a message via Yahoo to sky_doq
Red face

uh... okay than, ..

I would really appreciate it if you write sky_doq with a "q" at the end.

bye

JJ
__________________
Fd lives for flash and food !!

<EMBED src="http://www.geocities.com/flashsite_jrj/footer4.swf" quality=high menu value=false width="300" height="40" bgcolor="#000000" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"></EMBED>
sky_doq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2001, 03:45 PM   #6
Dave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 5
Red face

Sorry sky_doq! My apologies...

DAVE
Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2001, 01:07 PM   #7
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

if you have a stop in a frame, use gotoAndStop rather than gotoAndPlay. trying to gotoAndPlay a frame with a stop() in it can confuse Flash sometimes.
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loading a movie - Positioning Woofys the Greek! Other Flash General Questions 6 11-25-2004 02:54 AM
Loading 4 different SWFs with sound into 4 different empty movie clips? ahe ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 0 08-19-2004 04:02 PM
swf file loading into main movie texbala ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 4 08-13-2002 02:49 PM
Loading a movie into the parent movie from a sub movie? ducky Other Flash General Questions 2 05-13-2002 03:39 PM
Loading a movie that loads a movie mhughes ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 05-09-2002 07:24 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:24 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.