Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 07-12-2001, 05:51 PM   #1
stewart wright
Registered User
 
stewart wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 6
Question

right here goes... i have some dragable menue's (like a filing system) and these work fine.i want to put some buttons onto these "files" so they are dragged out and then the user can select from the menu. the problem is that the buttons dont work when i put them onto these menu's.
when i made the menu's i made a movie clip and placed a button inside it (as in one of the tutorials from this site) in order to be able to put action script on my buttons within the menu i have to do it from the symol library of the movie clip.
but they dont work! the cursor changes and everything looks good but it wont jump to different frames! what am i doing wrong!!!
please help
stewart wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2001, 02:35 PM   #2
Strok
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 798
Send a message via ICQ to Strok
Default

Try something like:

Code:
on (press) { 
tellTarget (_root) { 
gotoAndStop (10); 
} 
}
__________________
My photography: http://strok.photosight.com
Strok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2001, 06:47 PM   #3
olganunes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 45
Default

If you're still having problems you can email the file to me @ [email protected] and I will look at it.. I'm having trouble visualizing your movie.
olganunes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2001, 01:31 PM   #4
stewart wright
Registered User
 
stewart wright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 6
Smile

cheers strok, i'll give it a try.
and by the way olganunes,i was having enough trouble trying to explain the movie so dont worry about it!!! if i have more problems i'll get in touch and actually show you the movie!!!
thanks again
here go's!!!
stewart wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2001, 07:49 AM   #5
benjiemoss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 4
Default

I think I know exactly what you mean. If I'm right, your buttons are working, but,... they're working in their own context. In other words, they're going to the correct frame on their own timeline, and you want them to go to the correct frame on the maintimeline. the easiest way of doing this is:

on (press) {
_root.gotoAndPlay (10);
}

It works better than the tell target suggestion because it's version 5 and therefore more likely to be compatable with future versions of Flash. Hope you've fixed it by now anyway.
benjiemoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
buttons in external swf halkiede ActionScript 2.0 2 02-16-2005 03:49 AM
Loading buttons into movie clips in ordered sequence? datter ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 12-08-2004 06:25 PM
Scrolling through number of Buttons bjory Components 3 09-23-2004 07:57 AM
Buttons under buttons under buttons... Mortimer Jazz ActionScript 2.0 2 07-14-2004 12:27 PM
Detectable Buttons Interfering binar Other Flash General Questions 4 02-10-2002 05:08 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:07 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.