Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > General > Animation and Effects

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2004, 07:24 PM   #1
webguy
Senior Member
 
webguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: west palm beach
Posts: 1,652
Send a message via ICQ to webguy Send a message via AIM to webguy
Default high rez image zoom

I outsourced some of my website because my time was really strained and I was absolutely stunned by how well they did. I was expecting something crappy because it was done as a trade off for our company. Can someone tell me how they did the image zoom component of our exhibitor list? Its cool cause it loads lowrez then highrez when you zoom in.

http://www.antiques-trade.net/portal...beach_classic/

thanks
webG
__________________
Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.
webguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 07:46 PM   #2
Timmee_3Styler
Canadian Flasher
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: T dot O dot
Posts: 1,648
Default

he might just have 2 jpegs
one @ low quality another 1 at high quality and he uses the low quality one to do the zooming and sliding so itz not CPU intensive, but uses the higher rez one when the movement is complete.
Timmee_3Styler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 08:16 PM   #3
pixelwit
village halfwit
 
pixelwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA, PA
Posts: 3,330
Default

It looks like it's done with this commercial component. It basically saves 3 (depending on how deep you want to zoom) different sizes of the same image and cuts those images into small easy to load slices. Once you zoom into an area of the image, Flash determines which images are needed to reconstruct the visible area then loads those images as necessary.

-PiXELWiT
http://www.pixelwit.com
__________________
There are no answers, only choices.
pixelwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 08:26 PM   #4
Timmee_3Styler
Canadian Flasher
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: T dot O dot
Posts: 1,648
Default

o damn..... that is exactly what is needed for the microscope elearning lab im doing ... too bad I cant buy it
Timmee_3Styler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 08:28 PM   #5
Timmee_3Styler
Canadian Flasher
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: T dot O dot
Posts: 1,648
Default

heheh can pixelwit come up with something for me heheh
Timmee_3Styler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 08:38 PM   #6
pixelwit
village halfwit
 
pixelwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA, PA
Posts: 3,330
Default

I've seen your site Timmee, you should be able to code something like this without too much trouble. For me, the hardest part would probably be chopping all those images into peices.

Speaking of your site, I noticed that if you go to your "Skills" section and click on "Macromedia Flash" the 2Advanced website pops up. Seems like you might need to disable some hidden buttons or something.

-PiXELWiT
http://www.pixelwit.com
__________________
There are no answers, only choices.
pixelwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 09:07 PM   #7
Timmee_3Styler
Canadian Flasher
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: T dot O dot
Posts: 1,648
Default

thanx pixel..good catch..now the problem is finding why is it a button and 2...why the hell is it making me seem like i love 2A... haha
Timmee_3Styler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2004, 09:11 PM   #8
Timmee_3Styler
Canadian Flasher
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: T dot O dot
Posts: 1,648
Default

btw... webguy this might give you some thoughts on how to create this...


http://alf3.urz.unibas.ch/vmic/vmic.cfm?id=81

but ill try to tackle this now and fix my portfolio site

[EDIT]FIXED IT!!! thanx pixelwit once again [/EDIT]

Last edited by Timmee_3Styler; 01-26-2004 at 09:20 PM.
Timmee_3Styler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.