Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > ActionScript 2.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2004, 08:51 AM   #1
madthijs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 24
Default Moving multiple movieclips at once

My first post here


i built this application in flash with which you can built a spaceship from pre-fab movieclips. You can drag and drop these parts onto your ´drawing board´.

When you are finished and save this ship, all the data (the names from the parts and the x and y values) are saved to a Database.

This all works fine, but the problem is when i retrieve the values.
I can retrieve the data from my database into my flash movie and i can rebuilt the ship how it was made by someone.

I now want all these movieclips to ´become 1´ so that i can move this ship at random through my flash movie.

I hope that you understand what i mean and give me some hints ?

Thank a lot,

Madthijs
madthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 12:11 PM   #2
hangalot
lala
 
hangalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the road
Posts: 2,858
Default

i think loading all the clips into one movie and then getting the relative _x _y coordinates via globalToLocal would make the most sense.

there is no way in which u can change a MC's parent so once assembled on the _root u would have 2 adjust all the _x _y coordinates, which would have way more overhead if this is a game.
__________________
oi poloi
http://www.memorphic.com/news/
hangalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 12:40 PM   #3
madthijs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 24
Default

hangalot, thanks for your reply.

I want to make an aplication with which you can built something from multiple pre-fab movieclips.
After it is built i want to make an interactive gallery where all works are moving through the screen.

i can set up the works in the right x and y positions, but i cant move them as a whole , because it exists of multiple movieclips.

I thought there might be a way to assign all the movieclips that are in the right x and y positions to a group or something. And then let this group do some random scripted movement.
madthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 12:43 PM   #4
hangalot
lala
 
hangalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the road
Posts: 2,858
Default

no there is no way 2 assign them to a specific "group". as i said u cannot change the parent.

the best route 2 follow is 2 create an emptyMovieClip and then load the clips into that, and position them via the methods globalToLocal.

search the archives and check the help, all these methods are well documented.
__________________
oi poloi
http://www.memorphic.com/news/
hangalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 12:49 PM   #5
madthijs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rotterdam
Posts: 24
Default

I thought i was unclear of pointing out what i wanted....but you got the point

Thanks for your help! and i will go and search for that option.
madthijs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:42 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.