Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 04-23-2004, 04:19 AM   #1
x-cessive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
Question Externally loaded dynamic text does not show in html...

Hi. I'm new to this so don't be surprised if this is a stupid mistake. I went through a tutorial here called "Tutorial 34 - scrolling a text box II", in which text is read from a txt file into a dynamic text field. Everything worked fine.

The problem arises when I put the scroll box into a movie I was working on. It previews fine. It plays fine when uploaded (www.mysite.com/flash.swf). However when embedded into an HTML doc the movie doesn't show any text (www.mysite.com/flash.htm).

I wish I could discuss the code with you guys, but I have no script skills and pretty much copy-pasted the code. I have attached the files in the hope that someone will be able to look at them and tell me where I went wrong. Any help is most appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: zip gis-world-flash-tt.zip (213.1 KB, 159 views)
x-cessive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 05:13 AM   #2
x-cessive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Hmm...maybe this should be in the actionscript section as the problem definitly has to do with the script. Sorry if I put it in the wrong place.

Could a mod please move this over?
x-cessive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 05:22 AM   #3
Ruben
Me
 
Ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 3,512
Send a message via MSN to Ruben Send a message via Skype™ to Ruben
Default

Well, I don't really think this question's in the wrong place but the reason I didn't reply was because I didn't have an answer and was probably as stunned as you were

I don't know about the rest of the family but I never reply when I don't have an answer/clue...so maybe people just don't have answers...I don't know, give it another 4 days or something....

NOTE: Me is not a moderator by the way so couldn't move your thread if I wanted to

- Ruben
__________________
.
Originally Posted by MichaelxxOA
"He sounded like he knew which words he was going to use before he knew what he was going to say. I hate that shit."
Ruben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 09:08 AM   #4
vosgien
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: France
Posts: 923
Default

Hi,
I assume your file is in F5 ( or perhaps 2004), anyhow I cannot open it, one suggestion ( and a common error for all), is ensure that your text box is html enabled, otherwise it won't be able to read html text !

Cheers
Vosgien
vosgien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 10:04 AM   #5
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Howdy and Welcome...

Um... I don't understand your question... Okay... Check this one out... and tell me if it is working as it should be or not...
http://cyanblue.flashvacuum.com/tmp/...-flash-tt.html

PS> I don't think this thread really requires to be moved to another forum... As far as I know, there isn't much of AS involved with the problem... But if it is, I sure will move to the AS 2.0 forum...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2004, 05:15 PM   #6
x-cessive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
Default

@ruben - Thanx for letting me know. I understand what you are saying. I just feared I had put this thread in the wrong section, in retrospect. I'm glad I didn't.

@vosgien - I'm using flash 2004. I made sure that it was html enabled. I also tried it without importing html text, but just plain text. In all cases, the movie would play normally until I put the swf in an HTML page. Then the text wouldn't show.

I finally tried to stop loading the text from an external file, and just put it into the actions for the dynamic box (onClipEvent (load){daTextBox ="text"). That worked fine. This lead me to beleive that there was a problem with the 'this.loadVariables("start.txt");' statement. This is also why I thought maybe this should be in the actionscript section.

@CyanBlue - Yes, The movie works perfectly fine in your page! How did you do it?

@all - Thanx alot for the replies guys. You been great!
x-cessive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 12:59 AM   #7
vosgien
member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: France
Posts: 923
Default

Hi x-cessive,
Sorry - I didn't read you question properly, and also, I work in MX(original) and not 2004, at a guess I would suggest you change the way you are loading in your text to new LoadVars():
PHP Code:
myLVs = new LoadVars()
myLVs.load("start.txt" )
myLVs.onLoad = function(success)
{
if(
success)
{
daTextBox.html true;
daTextBox.htmlText this.myText
}
}
/*where myText is the name of the variable in start.txt*/ 
I assumed you worked with F5 as I checked the tute that you posted, I believe ( I read somewhere around here) that loadVariables was being deprecated, but I amnot certain on that.

Cheers

Vosgien
vosgien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2004, 06:54 PM   #8
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

How??? Tell you what... I just published the HTML and SWF file from the FLA file that you have posted and pushed to my server... I did not touch anything in you FLA file at all... I am not sure if this matters but my host runs under the Linux...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2004, 03:28 PM   #9
x-cessive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I got it to work! I just published the flash and HTML. Copied the object HTML, then pasted it to the page where I was wanted it in. I also had to move all the flash related files from an images folder to the folder the HTML was in (The flash was linked to the folder properly before). I didn't try the loadVars method as this one worked. Thanks for the help guys. It's much appreciated!
x-cessive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.