Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-06-2004, 09:32 AM   #1
smirnie
Registered User
 
smirnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default dynamic variables (newbie question)

Hello,

here's my prob. I want something as simple as letting people put in some simple data that I can use through the hole clip. f.i. a name and adress

I'm guessing i'll have to use dynamic and input boxes and some script: this is how far??? I got:

I've got one input textbox: instance: inputname, variable sInputname
one button to go to frame two
I've got one dynamic textfield on frame two: instance name, variable sName

some code on layer two of my second frame:

sName = sInputname

suprise, suprise it doesn't work.
smirnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 09:56 AM   #2
avatar
Senior Member
 
avatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Belgium - Antwerp
Posts: 456
Default

your theorie should work fine...
check the zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip text.zip (5.2 KB, 347 views)
__________________
Cheers,
Avatar
http://www.12create.be
avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 10:02 AM   #3
smirnie
Registered User
 
smirnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

I get an unexpected format error. Are you using flash mx 2004?

idid'nt reach that far yet. I'm stuck with MX
smirnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 10:14 AM   #4
avatar
Senior Member
 
avatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Belgium - Antwerp
Posts: 456
Default

yep now you should be able to open it in MX
Attached Files
File Type: zip text.zip (6.2 KB, 276 views)
__________________
Cheers,
Avatar
http://www.12create.be
avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 10:26 AM   #5
smirnie
Registered User
 
smirnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

thx


Yours works min doesn't although its the same thing. Strange,... very strange.
As long as I'm thinking in the wright direction, I don't feel completely stupid.
smirnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 10:30 AM   #6
avatar
Senior Member
 
avatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Belgium - Antwerp
Posts: 456
Default

Could you post your fla here?
__________________
Cheers,
Avatar
http://www.12create.be
avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2004, 10:32 AM   #7
smirnie
Registered User
 
smirnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

I've deleted it. I'll restart and post it if it doesn't work.


Thx a lot
smirnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 03:23 AM   #8
smirnie
Registered User
 
smirnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

OK I've managed the name part

Now I have a new problem. I'm trying to create some kind of a selftest. The meaning is that people answer a few questions and than get a grade and some tips at the end. Also they get a survey of the answers thy've given.

This is how i thought solving this riddle:

Make question and give a few possible answers for each question. Each answers has a button each button gets following script:

on (release) {
gotoAndPlay(2);
vraag 1 = "Antwoord 1" ;
commentaar 1 = "commentaar 1" ;
score = score 3+ ;
}

My last frame would contain a few dynamic textboxes f.i. vraagA: variable vraag1 commentaar vraag A: variable commentaar 1....

It doesn't work I get the following error message:

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 3: ';' expected
vraag 1 = "Antwoord 1" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 4: ';' expected
commentaar 1 = "commentaar 1" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 5: ';' expected
score = score 3+ ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 3: ';' expected
vraag 1 = "Antwoord 2" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 4: ';' expected
commentaar 1 = "commentaar 2" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 5: ';' expected
score = score 5+ ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 2: ')' or ',' expected
gotoAndPlay(2 ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 3: ';' expected
vraag 1 = "Antwoord 3" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 4: ';' expected
commentaar 1 = "commentaar 3" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=1: Line 5: ';' expected
score = score 1+ ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 3: ';' expected
vraag 2 = "Antwoord 1" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 4: ';' expected
commentaar 2 = "commentaar 1" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 5: ';' expected
score = score 1+ ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 3: ';' expected
vraag 2 = "antwoord 2" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 4: ';' expected
commentaar 2 = "commentaar 2" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 5: ';' expected
score = score 3+ ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 3: ';' expected
vraag 2 = "antwoord 3" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 4: ';' expected
commentaar 2 = "commentaar 3" ;

Scene=Scene 1, Layer=Layer 1, Frame=2: Line 5: ';' expected
score = score 5+ ;

it doesn't even go to the next frame. Also when I test it it goes automatically to frame two evn though I've put a 'stop' at each frame.

Can you see where my little script is gowing wrong? Or am I thinking in the wrong direction and is this never going to work?

I'll post my fla it's just a draft version so I didn't pay any attention at the lay-out.

thx
Attached Files
File Type: zip selftest_draft.zip (134 Bytes, 282 views)

Last edited by smirnie; 05-07-2004 at 03:43 AM.
smirnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 04:58 AM   #9
avatar
Senior Member
 
avatar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Belgium - Antwerp
Posts: 456
Default

the .fla seems to be empty...
__________________
Cheers,
Avatar
http://www.12create.be
avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2004, 05:19 AM   #10
smirnie
Registered User
 
smirnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 31
Default

sorry.

here you go.
Attached Files
File Type: zip selftest_draft.zip (3.1 KB, 286 views)
smirnie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.