Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-19-2004, 07:01 AM   #1
nightkev
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7
Question Loading Text Files and scrolling them...

In Flash MX I was able to take a dynamic text bar, load text files into it, attach the scrollbar component to it and have it scroll dynamically based on how much copy was in the text file.

The scrollbar component no longer exists in FlashMX 2004 Pro and I am looking for a way to scroll my dynamically loaded text files.

Please note that I am loading text files into the dyanmic text field and need it to scroll based on how much content is in the text file.

Currently I am using the -- loadVariablesNum ("textfile.txt",0); -- to load my text into a dynamic text field.

Any help would be great.
nightkev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 06:12 AM   #2
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

u can do to MM's site, download the UI Conponent, set 4
it has the scrollBar component
else use the TextAreaor TextInput components, will scroll auto
__________________
‚€* GOD Is Near ‚€*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 02:27 PM   #3
avelives
"the dude abides..!"
 
avelives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to avelives Send a message via Yahoo to avelives
Default

Where exactly can i download the scroll bar compnent from ??
I have looked on macromedias site but it seems i have to buy it ??
avelives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 02:33 PM   #4
farafiro
Addicted To FLASH
 
farafiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Egyptian in UAE
Posts: 12,436
Send a message via MSN to farafiro Send a message via Yahoo to farafiro
Default

if u downloaded the 7.2 update u will find it in the components panel
__________________
‚€* GOD Is Near ‚€*
Questions Don't PM for Questions . Thanks
An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind
_____________________________________________GHANDI
farafiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 08:26 AM   #5
avelives
"the dude abides..!"
 
avelives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to avelives Send a message via Yahoo to avelives
Default

ok but i was trying to avoid the MASSIVE 66mb download , oh well
avelives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 01:50 PM   #6
nsmdesigns
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Just went through the same problem the last few days. I found that MX 2004 is now favouring the use of the textArea component.

It's one of those things where it has made harder things to do now easier, but at the same time, made things that were relatively easy to do in MX much harder. It doesn't help that the documentation for 2004 is sketchy at best.

This tutorial helped me out quite a bit:

http://www.actionscript.org/tutorial...nt/index.shtml
nsmdesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 04:02 PM   #7
avelives
"the dude abides..!"
 
avelives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to avelives Send a message via Yahoo to avelives
Default

I decided to just make the text static in the end and use the scrollpane it was much easier.
And its for my portfolio site so i dont mind updating the text in flash, on the rare occasions that will happen.

Thanks anyway for that tute ill do it at some point when i can be bothered as id like to know how to do this in mx 2004.
On a final note with TextArea component can you still customise the look of the scrollbar etc as before ??
cause i HATE the cheesy look of the basic one
avelives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2004, 04:08 PM   #8
avelives
"the dude abides..!"
 
avelives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 365
Send a message via AIM to avelives Send a message via Yahoo to avelives
Default

Nope scrap that LOL

I just found out you cant edit the look of the scrollpane in flash anymore ??
OR can you ?? I may just be missing it......
If you cant anymore ill just make my own one i think itll be so much easier...

i like the new flash 2004 but boy have the messed around to much with the components or what !!

EDIT: Its ok i found out how to do it, sorry my brain has gone on holiday today !

Last edited by avelives; 09-24-2004 at 04:24 PM.
avelives is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.