Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 08-14-2001, 09:43 PM   #1
ncorbett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3
Question

I'm trying to launch an application nested one directory down from the Flash projector. The fscommand code works when the application is in the same directory, but when I move it into the subdirectory - logos - it can't access it anymore.

What am I doing wrong with the path name????

on (release) {
fscommand ("exec", "logos/CA_BLK_S.SEA");
}

Please help!

ncorbett
ncorbett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2001, 10:02 PM   #2
pixelwit
village halfwit
 
pixelwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA, PA
Posts: 3,330
Default

Not sure, but have you tried switching the "/" to a "\"?
pixelwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2001, 10:15 PM   #3
ncorbett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3
Default

Yes I've tried:

on (release) {
fscommand ("exec", "logos\\CA_BLK_S.SEA");
}

too. No luck yet.
ncorbett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2001, 03:45 AM   #4
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

one dir down?
well if this is your structure:

root dir
--current dir
----projector file
--logos
----SEA file

you'll need you path to be soemthing like:
../logos/CA_BLK_S.SEA

but if youcan't get that to work look into the output of:

myURL = _url;

this will allow you to build a full path.
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2001, 02:58 AM   #5
ncorbett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3
Default Found a work around solution

Thanks for your replies all.

If anyone is interested, here's how it was resolved - plus a little more detail about the issue....

The project was to be delivered on two CD-ROMs - 1 Mac and 1 PC. I was doing most of the coding on the Mac side, and then pulling over to the PC for any changes.

I could not get the Mac version to use fscommand "exec" beyond any application (in this case Self Extracting Archives - SEA) in the root directory. My work around solution was to create aliases in the root directory for all the SEAs in the sub directories (yes, one level down). As this was being delivered and played on a CD-ROM, I was able to make all the aliases in the root directory invisible when I burned the disk. Worked seamlessly and like a charm.

The PC side was able to recognize path names with no problems. They were written in this form:

logos\\filename.exe

Thanks again for your help everyone. I'm new around here, but expect to be around quite often.

-ncorbett
ncorbett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with path for a button. Please help mx-guest2004 ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 02-18-2005 03:57 AM
TextFormat path problem jib ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 3 02-07-2005 12:42 PM
using variable in a target path - urgent problem - please help joesmiley69 ActionScript 2.0 7 01-26-2005 09:48 AM
scrolling: target path problem I think derezzz ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 08-28-2004 09:55 PM
Path Problem funkmyer ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 5 01-16-2002 09:05 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.