Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > Simple Stuff (Newbies)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2004, 12:28 PM   #1
j_hamster84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Unhappy Needed help in Flash...

Currently, I'm a student and I have to learn Flash by myself to create an e-learning project. There is one effect I seen in one of the national geographic website, which I cannot find in any books that could teach me how. Therefore I hope I could find a solution here...

Currently, I'm using Flash MX 2004, and my problem is that I wanted to 'hit' a button then a box with text and pic will pop up (not a window) and there will be a close button for me to close the box. Please take a look at the website:

http://www.nationalgeographic.com/ch...mmy_flash.html

I really needed help in this... (T_T)
j_hamster84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2004, 11:47 PM   #2
speedlemon
Registered User
 
speedlemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 108
Default

hi j hamster. ok. here is what you'll want to do.
make a movie clip with an instance name of 'popuptext'(i suggest making this box's alpha value between 50%-75% to make it look more professional.)
next, you'll want to add a button in 'popuptext' that will close it.(i suggest an X or 'close' or whatever.)

ok. in 'popuptext', write this(or copy.)

PHP Code:
onClipEvent(load){
     
this._visible false;

in the button that will make the textbox appear-

PHP Code:
on(release){
     
_root.popuptext._visible true;

in the button that will close the textbox-

PHP Code:
on(release){
     
_root.popuptext._visible false;

are there easier ways of doing this? of course. but this gets the job done atleast.
speedlemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 01:14 AM   #3
infiniti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 95
Default

My suggestion is to have an empty movie clip as a placeholder and dynamically attach the movie (popup) in place, have the close button to dynamically remove the clip. This way the user doesnt actually need to load the popup image if its never clicked.
infiniti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 02:41 AM   #4
speedlemon
Registered User
 
speedlemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 108
Default

oh. he said he was new. thats why i figured id show him the easiest way to do it and understand it at the same time. your suggestion is awesome too, but would one movie clip and button with 6 lines of actionscript really make loading times really that bad?
besides, i dont even know if id be able to do it your way. ive never actually tried to do one of these things, but if i did, more likely than not, i would've never thought of the way you just showed. i know how to dynamically load text and all that good stuff, but i could probably find some way of accomplishing this.
speedlemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 03:13 AM   #5
infiniti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 95
Default

Here's a quick example of my suggestion
Attached Files
File Type: zip attach.zip (128.0 KB, 188 views)
infiniti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 05:52 AM   #6
j_hamster84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default Needed more elaboration...

Thankx for the solution, but I don't quite understand how infiniti do it... Therefore, I needed more elaboration pls... and i'm still trying out Speedlemon's solution.

I have attached one of my file, the effect I wanted is when I click on the UPS block, the "UPS_MC" movie clip will pop up. But after adding the action script, I still don't see the effect

Thankx for all your help
Attached Files
File Type: zip attach.zip (23.3 KB, 200 views)

Last edited by j_hamster84; 07-28-2004 at 08:43 AM. Reason: attach file
j_hamster84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 03:09 PM   #7
speedlemon
Registered User
 
speedlemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 108
Default

im still on mx so the file wouldnt open. so i cant help anymore. soary.
speedlemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 01:51 AM   #8
j_hamster84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default

For the buttons, should I create a hit or down button? becoz' I don't think I did the correct way...
j_hamster84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2004, 01:57 AM   #9
speedlemon
Registered User
 
speedlemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 108
Default

i dont think it matters
speedlemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2004, 01:20 AM   #10
j_hamster84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I'm not sure about the the steps from the 'intance name' of a movie, and creating a button... can you please help me...????
j_hamster84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.