Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > ActionScript 1.0 (and below)

Old 08-11-2004, 08:15 PM   #1
fuzion

Default How do i move an object by angle?

Hello guys!

Im pretty new to flash and trigonometry, and when i read the "detecting the mouse angle"-tut, i wanted to create a minigolf-style game. I have created the mouse-angle MC, and made it return values between 0 and 360 degrees.

My problem now, is that i want the ball to be shot in the selected angle - no powermeter yet Lets say i stop the rotation at 120 degrees (it would then strike the top left corner), how do i get the ball to move, from where its located, by an angle of 120 degrees and the exit the screen?

To simplify my question: I want to move an object by 120 degrees from its current location. How do i do that? The movement must be animated

Hope you understood my quasi-english guys! Greetings from a stupid norwegian
fuzion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 06:27 AM   #2
Laguana
Well known nobody

I think i know what you mean. As for the animation, that's just you making a movie clip which has an animated bit and telling it to play it at the opportune moment.

For the 120 degrees bit, trigonometry comes into it. What we need to do is find out what x and y changes need to be made to go in the direction of 120 degrees. For the following i will assume a total movement of 100 per move.