Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 08-18-2004, 09:33 AM   #1
marcusg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Default Scrollpane component inside a window component

Hi,

I'm having some troubles getting the scrollpane component to work properly within a window component. Here is how I have set up the swf:

I have made a small movie containing a combobox component and a scrollpane component. The idea is that a change in the combobox loads new thumbnail images in the scrollpane. I created a second movieclip which loads the thumbnail I need - this is contained in the library with the correct linkage id etc so that it can be loaded into the scrollpane.

I have no issues loading the content - it loads into the scrollpane fine, however the scrollbars on the scrollpane do not appear. I checked firstly to ensure that the content was large enough to activate the scrollbars since the scrolling parameters were set to 'auto'. The content was more than large enough to activate this. I then set the vertical/horizontal scroll parameters (think its hScrollPolicy & vScrollPolicy) to 'always on'. This results in an empty scrollbar being placed on the vertical and horizontal axis. When I say empty I mean they do not have arrows on either side and they don't have a dragging bar in the middle - just a graphic where the scrollbars should be.

I then realised that the whole movie I have here (combobox/scrollpane) are already inside a window component. I took the movie out and placed it on the root. The scrollpane worked perfectly.

This makes me think that the window component (which does not have scrollbars of anysort enabled) must be disabling the scrollpane scrollbars through inheritance or something like that. To be honest I'm stuck. I don't want to enable any scrolling on the windows component but I want their contents(the scrollpane) to have scrolling enabled... Any ideas if this is my problem or has anyone come across anything similar?

Thanks for your help - looks as if the scrollpane is a bit of a bother for a few folk.

MG
marcusg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 04:06 AM   #2
neurotick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

having the same problem as we speak, only my combobox is on the root level!
Most likely bad inheritance on MM's part. I've seen a few things like this... gotta find workarounds
neurotick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 04:20 AM   #3
neurotick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Got it. The scroll bar does not measure text automatically so you have to specify... try
listname.hScollPolicy = "on"
listname.maxHPosition = 500;
neurotick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.