Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 01-25-2005, 05:28 PM   #1
jrk_productions
JR
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 481
Default play backwards?

Is it possible to make a mc play backwards? if so, HOW?
well that was it, thanx in advance, JR
jrk_productions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 08:13 PM   #2
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Howdy...

I am sure you will find plenty if you search for 'reverse play'...
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 10:09 AM   #3
jrk_productions
JR
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 481
Default

Jea, but the thing was, after trying atleast 10 diffrent ways that were all made for flash 5 or earlier, I gave up.. But I think I got it now... he he
jrk_productions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2005, 07:14 AM   #4
bgetting
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 40
Default

make an onEnterFrame function for that MC like this one:

Code:
your_mc.onEnterFrame = function() {
     this.prevFrame();
}
You can also set a toggle to change the direction by just changing the toggle variable:

Code:
your_mc.onEnterFrame = function() {
     if (this.toggle == 0) {
          this.prevFrame();
     } else {
          this.nextFrame();
     }
}
In this case, the clip will go forward or backward depending on the value of the toggle variable. The following will make the clip run backwards:

Code:
your_mc.toggle = 0;
bgetting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 07:39 PM   #5
BluegillMedia
pancake batter
 
BluegillMedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 260
Default

will this work on the main timeline too?
__________________
Hey! I like potatos!
BluegillMedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 08:07 PM   #6
GusDoeMatik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to GusDoeMatik Send a message via MSN to GusDoeMatik
Default

Does that work if you want the movie clip to play from frame 10-1 straight through?
GusDoeMatik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 09:21 PM   #7
CyanBlue
Super Moderator
 
CyanBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Centreville, VA
Posts: 26,666
Default

Sounds like that's something you can try and let us know if it works on your situation...
(I don't personally see why it should not work though...)
__________________
CyanBlue / Jason Je / Macromedia Certified Flash Developer & Designer
http://CyanBlue.FlashVacuum.com
http://www.FlashVacuum.com
http://tutorials.FlashVacuum.com

Do NOT PM, Email or Call me... Your question belongs right in this forum...
CyanBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 11:01 PM   #8
BluegillMedia
pancake batter
 
BluegillMedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 260
Default

I never did get this to work in the main timeline. Any thoughts?

(I have a billion things on the main timeline that have to change when the animation completes (I have a 4 part animation of a room spinning and am pointing our details at each quadrant).
__________________
Hey! I like potatos!
BluegillMedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 11:23 PM   #9
hupsohl
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 58
Send a message via ICQ to hupsohl Send a message via AIM to hupsohl
Default

I did something similar to what bgetting posted. I attached a mockup of what I did when I was trying to figure it out before. In this example, the variable 'backward' is what controls which direction the timeline plays (backward=true makes it go reverse).
Attached Files
File Type: zip reverse.zip (5.5 KB, 382 views)
hupsohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 12:50 AM   #10
GusDoeMatik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to GusDoeMatik Send a message via MSN to GusDoeMatik
Default

great example I know I can use it. And it should work wonders on what I'm doing...
GusDoeMatik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:46 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.