Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Flash General Questions > Other Flash General Questions

Old 02-02-2005, 04:48 PM   #1
Purdy

Default How did they do that? [NY Times]

I am BRAND new to Flash/ActionScript, coming from a Web development (Perl/CGI) background. My boss is enchanted by the NY Times Audio Slide Shows (see examples on this page) and wants to do something similar with our content.

I took a look at their stuff and it is a Flash setup, so I downloaded an eval of MM Flash MX Pro and I am not sure where to begin. I'm not really interested in the graphics aspect of it, but really the technical guts of what's going on behind the scenes.

Is something like that one whole document? Or would that be a Scenes/Presentation type of structure?

I've been through a lot of the help docs and tutorials, but where I'm getting stuck is how to get the big picture of how such a project would be organized (and hopefully extended to other pieces of content easily). If anyone has pointers to a good book (or site), I'd appreciate it.

Thanks In Advance!

- Jason
Purdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 11:03 PM   #2
Gibberish
WHAT!?

if its the slidwshow when you click on th image there is no flash being used. Only flash was the news correspondence. That is done with a built slideshow and synced audio.

It would be hard and a lot of time to explain how to create something like that, I would suggest looking for a tutorial. That would be like me asking you to explain to me how to make a full program in CGI.

try searching for photo gallery or photo slide show. This is a link tot he top result when i search photo slideshow here: http://www.actionscript.org/forums/s...hoto+slideshow
Old 02-02-2005, 11:29 PM   #3
Purdy

Default My Idea So Far

Hi Gibberish -- thanks for the response.