Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 03-30-2005, 05:06 AM   #1
smile007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default Another problem when scrolling a text box

Hello,

I had posted a thread about a problem I had with the tutorials "Scrolling a text box" (32 & 33 on intermediate level).

Gibberish helped me solve it and now it's allright : the text in my dynamic box is embedded and is displayed the same way as a static text.

2 problems still remain :
- styles such as "bold" are not recognized : when I use <b>, the text doesn't appear any more ;
- special characters such as "ç" or "é" or "è" uesd in the French language are not recognized either.

What shall I do ?

Many thanks in advance

François
smile007 is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 05:44 AM   #2
oldnewbie
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,533
Default

Did you embed the font's bold outlines?

Re-save your text file as UTF-8, pour les accents.

François aussi!
oldnewbie is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 08:28 PM   #3
smile007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default

Bon, on continue quand même en anglais...

Hello François ! Thank you for your concern

OK for the text file saved in UTF-8 format : the accents are back !
As far as the "bold" style is concerned, I don't really understand what you mean.
Here's what my text file looks like :
daTextBox=<FONT FACE="Arial" SIZE="16" COLOR="#5B5CFD">Here is my text</FONT>

The text doesn't appear when I use :
daTextBox=<FONT FACE="Arial Bold" SIZE="16" COLOR="#5B5CFD">Here is my text</FONT> (though the "Arial Bold" font is in my computer)
It doesn't work when I use :
daTextBox=<FONT FACE="Arial" SIZE="16" COLOR="#5B5CFD"><B>Here is my text</B></FONT>

Do you have an idea ?
smile007 is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 11:34 PM   #4
oldnewbie
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,533
Default

Did you embed the "Arial Bold" font outlines in the textfield?
If you're using both "Arial" & "Arial bold" and embedding one of them in your textfield, you must also embed the other in an off-stage textfield, so that both be available in the on stage textfield.
oldnewbie is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 03:23 AM   #5
smile007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default

I created a graphic symbol including a dynamic textbox with font embedded (this is what you mean, no ?). But when I try to select an "Arial Bold" font, I see it is not available (although it is in my computer).

What's the matter ?
smile007 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 04:41 AM   #6
oldnewbie
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,533
Default

You've got to embed the normal Arial font outlines, and you have to embed the Arial Bold font outlines (as you would have to embed the Arial italic bold outlines if using it...) so that all are available in your on stage textfield.
But you have to embed the other font's styles in another textfield.

Attach your test .fla, zipped up and in a mX only format, and I'll set it up for you.
oldnewbie is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 06:45 AM   #7
smile007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 30
Default

The normal Arial font is embedded.
But I can't embed the "Arial Bold" font (not available : Flash alerts me with a missing font warning, though it really is in my computer).
I tried with another font available (Arial Black) but it doesn't work either :
- I create a graphic symbol in which I put a dynamic textbox (with or without any variable name ?) with the Arial Black font embedded
- I do not put it on my scene
- in my text file, I use the code : FONT FACE="Arial Black"
... And nothing appears

I'd like to send you my file, but even when I zip it, it's too heavy (28k)...

Help !!!
smile007 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 01:22 PM   #8
oldnewbie
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,533
Default

I've sent you a private message with an e-mail address, where you can send me the zip.
Hope it's in a MX only format not MX2004.
oldnewbie is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 07:14 PM   #9
oldnewbie
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,533
Default

I need the scroller.as file and the text file you didn't include in your mail.
oldnewbie is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 01:48 AM   #10
oldnewbie
Banned by AS.org Staff
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,533
Default

OK! Sorry, just disregard my above post. Just saw you had included it in the mail itself rather than attachments.
oldnewbie is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:17 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.