Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 03-01-2001, 04:04 PM   #1
tpuell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 4
Default

repeated use of getUrl from a projector opens multiple browser windows (ie5 on pc) rather than navigating to different urls in same window. no target specification seems to alleviate this. any fix / work around? also, is there any way to check for active internet connection from the projector like you can do in lingo?
tpuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2001, 02:01 AM   #2
Jesse
ActionScript.org Founder
 
Jesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 8,736
Default

Well I can't get the movies to open in the same window either and I've been trying for about 10 minutes...

I can help you with the other though, To test for an active internet connection you can have avariable called 'active' which is default set to false, then you can do a loadVariables request on an online data file: http://www.site.com/onlineCheck.txt and that will load in a true value for the 'active' variable which you can check later on; if it's true, you're connected, else you're not.

Cheers

Jesse
__________________
Cheers

Jesse Stratford
ActionScript.org Cofounder

Please don't email or PM me Flash questions, that's what the Forums are for!

Please don't rely on me reading my PMs either. Email me about important stuff.
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2001, 02:13 PM   #3
tpuell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 4
Default

oh. good tip. thank you. if anybody does find a solution to the multiple window thing.... i'm still looking for one!
tpuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2001, 09:30 PM   #4
loislane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 3
Default same problem

I've got the same problem. It works like a charm in Netscape (4.76 on PC) but not IE. Haven't tried on a Mac yet ... I'd be interested in hearing any solutions or ideas, too.
loislane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2001, 09:35 PM   #5
loislane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 3
Default minor breakthrough

as i was writing, one of my co-workers tried our code in IE 5.5 on a PC -- with success. might it be a snag in IE 5.0?
loislane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2001, 09:43 PM   #6
tpuell
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: brooklyn
Posts: 4
Default

sounds great. what is your code?
tpuell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2001, 04:10 PM   #7
loislane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 3
Default

Hi ... it worked with IE 5.5 just using the regular getURl code with a target name that had I typed in. We are now, however, looking at a redirect work-around that will work the same across browsers so we don't have to worry about it not working properly in only IE 5.0.
loislane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Centered Multiple Pop-up windows via Flash paulgabel Other Flash General Questions 3 10-14-2005 06:16 PM
Multiple pop up windows behind projector xus Projectors and CDs 1 09-07-2005 11:42 AM
Why everyone hates (or should hate!) mircosoft stealthelephant General Chat 100 01-07-2005 01:17 PM
Really Need Help : Multiple 'getURL()' calls fail... Debug2626 ActionScript 2.0 3 10-29-2004 07:11 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:33 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.