Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 11-29-2001, 08:58 AM   #1
Ricod
(@_@) -("pretty lights")
 
Ricod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 3,982
Default back button solution and if statements

I'm trying to get Robert Penners excelent back button solution.( For those who don't know, now u can use the back button of yer browser to navigate bac and forth within your flash file) Anyway, at the moment I'm using if statements to check which frame to go back/forth to. IS there a faster way to check where to go to ?

Also, since the backbutton can't be used to invoke actions like a flash button (or maybe it can, but someone has to tell me that then) I have a clip constantly looping to check wether or not the the variable changed. Is there a more efficient method ? This slows down my animations.
__________________
RicoD
Link ?
Ricod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2001, 10:40 PM   #2
fpanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: From the US living in europe for now.
Posts: 11
Send a message via Yahoo to fpanko
Default

wow, i'm not sure where to go after all that if you want to make a button in flash, which sends the browser backa page(like the one at the top of the browser), then you can use javascript inside a get URL action. I have a file you can grab with an example in it on my site.
www.geckoarts.com
under june12
Since you file is looping indefinitly, this will also need to be in an "if" statement for use in a frame action. If you are useing it in a button that appears through ou the loop, you should be o.k..
Hope this helps, frank
fpanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2001, 07:47 AM   #3
Ricod
(@_@) -("pretty lights")
 
Ricod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 3,982
Unhappy I guess my post wasn't clear ...

no, no ! I have the back button working, but since u cannot use the back button of your browser like a flash-button I have to send a variable to the flash movie and constantly check wether or not that variable has changed. But I use if statements including all posebilities. Even though the entire function has only 15 lines or so, I'd rather do it in less.

But I'm an intermediate AS-er and a total newbie to Arrays etc. I heard they're faster than seperate variables but am not sure of my source. So my actual question is :
what is the fastest way to check a variable if u already know all the posibilities ?
__________________
RicoD
Link ?
Ricod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:55 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.