Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 05-10-2005, 05:01 AM   #1
CookieDoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17
Default Apache/SWF Crazy problems

I have an SWF with flv video that loads through an external loader swf. the SWF's keep hanging part way through loading. Same problem regardless of using the direct SWF or the loader SWF, the loader hangs at xx percent while the direct SWF is just blank white. The file hangs and often locks up the browser (mozilla & IE), I have to close all instances to regain browser function. Same problem from different computer. Sometimes mozilla would hang and not freeze but when I would refresh it would act like the swf didnt exist. Once I cleared the cache it would load half way and hang again.

It all works fine on an IIS server, but not on the Linux one. mime.types right? Well the swf type is in by default, I added video/x-flv. I also did AddType application/x-shockwave-flash swf from the httpd.conf file, this made things worse actually. Seems like after I did that I couldnt view any SWF's on the server. I sent a message to the hosting company, but I know they're just going to try and make this out as a flash problem not server... Oh, and yes I'm uploading in binary on FTP.


AHH! Any ideas?
P.S. I can't give a link to the problem.. sorry.
CookieDoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 02:42 PM   #2
crion
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Default

http://www.actionscript.org/forums/s...d.php3?t=72795 i've got similar problem. on iis worx fine, on my localhost do nothing but this, but on different remote server with apache installed it's ok, so i guess it's sth about settings or apache version.
crion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 02:55 PM   #3
CookieDoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17
Default

Well, some of the things I tried that didnt end up working:
Make sure you upload it in Binary mode
Make sure your server has the flash mime type
Make sure its not specific to one browser or computer

Hopefully someone else knows more !
CookieDoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 04:28 PM   #4
CookieDoh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 17
Default Solved.

Here's a strange one for ya, problem was related to my firewall (Linksys) My secondary test computer was behind this same firewall. If I plug in direct to the internet connection, all works fine....


Wierd.
CookieDoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:00 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.