Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 07-01-2005, 09:36 PM   #1
altima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Default Actionscript appearing above MC's

Hi everyone. This is my first post.

I was wondering how to get a particle effect coded in actionscript to appear below any other MC's on stage. What would I need to do? Thanks!
altima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 10:06 PM   #2
Dylan Marvin
Dylan
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 379
Default

If you have, say, 100 particle movieClips, use swapDepth to put the movieClip you want on top to be at a level 101 or more on load.

But there are many ways to create particles, if you can put them all in one master clip, you could easily put another clip on a higher layer on the stage (however, this would effect your paths).
__________________
my art
Dylan Marvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 12:51 AM   #3
altima
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Talking

Thanks for leading me into the right direction.

I actually had a code creating 100 particles floating across the screen. By writing an actionscript onto the movie clip called "tv" on-stage, I was able to swap depths with the particle movie clip.

ActionScript Code:
onClipEvent (enterFrame) {     _root.tv.swapDepths(_root.getNextHighestDepth()); }

Thanks!
altima is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:34 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.