Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 08-25-2005, 02:44 PM   #1
Mathieu_BSL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Fiji
Posts: 187
Default Avoiding scroll bars...

Hi !

I want to insert a Flash object in my HTML page without displaying the
browser vertical scroller.

Actually, I use this script :

<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<title></title>
<style type="text/css">
<!--
body {
width: 100%;
height: 100%;
border: none;
margin: 0px;
padding: 0px;
}
-->
</style>
</head>
<body scroll="NO">
<object id="application" width="100%" height="100%" classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=7,0,0,0" >
<param name="movie" value="file.swf">
<param name="SeamlessTabbing" value="false">
</object>
<script language="Javascript">
<!--
application.focus();
-->
</script>
</body>
</html>


But officially, <body scroll="NO"> is not a "legal" option, even if
supported by MIE. (that's what Dreamweaver said...)

Is there a better way to avoid the displaying of any
scroll bar in every browsers ?
I didn't found such option in the css options...

Regards,

Mathieu
Mathieu_BSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 08:35 PM   #2
Cota
Super Moderator
 
Cota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,175
Default

The absolute, best way to insure that is simply dont make any thing larger than 700x500....Though there are other tricks available. And dont always listen to DreamWeaver...
__________________
Color Wars | (kul′ər wrs) n. - Open conflict between factions. www.theColorWars.com

cota - www.chadworkman.com | http://shavedplatypus.com
occupation: designer | flash developer | server-side developer (php, asp, mssql, mysql)
Cota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 01:27 AM   #3
Mathieu_BSL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Fiji
Posts: 187
Default

In fact, I want to use all the space available, not only 700 X 500 pixels...

Actually, I set <body scroll="NO">, but I don't know if this will work with every browsers...

Thanx anyway,
Mathieu_BSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 01:36 AM   #4
Cota
Super Moderator
 
Cota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,175
Default

That should work in the major browsers.
__________________
Color Wars | (kul′ər wrs) n. - Open conflict between factions. www.theColorWars.com

cota - www.chadworkman.com | http://shavedplatypus.com
occupation: designer | flash developer | server-side developer (php, asp, mssql, mysql)
Cota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 04:38 AM   #5
Flash Gordon
rather be programming
 
Flash Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 10,140
Default

Quote:
Actually, I set <body scroll="NO">, but I don't know if this will work with every browsers..
I used to do the same, however it doesn't work in FF. Someone posted the "correct" way to do it, thought. I think it might have been done through CSS. Do a simple search for it, if you like.
__________________
trace("Good bye Flash.") Log.i(TAG, "Hello Droid");
Flash Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 05:55 AM   #6
MichaelxxOA
Flash Sucks
 
MichaelxxOA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Victorville, Ca
Posts: 2,228
Send a message via AIM to MichaelxxOA Send a message via MSN to MichaelxxOA Send a message via Yahoo to MichaelxxOA Send a message via Skype™ to MichaelxxOA
Default

if you do something like this inbetween <head> and </head>

ActionScript Code:
<style type="text/css"> <!-- body { overflow: hidden; } //--> </style>
That will make it so that anything overflowing the edges of the browser is not visible, and if it is not visible then it can't be scrolled to, therefore you will have no scrollbars. This method is probably a little further than what you want to do, I'd just look into it.

-Michael
MichaelxxOA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 01:41 PM   #7
Mathieu_BSL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Fiji
Posts: 187
Default

Thanx Michael, but it doesn't work with MIE...;-)

I guess that the "scroll" property is simply not included in the css model...

By the way, I'd like to know what we should use for FF... If someone has an idea...

Mathieu
Mathieu_BSL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.