Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > ActionScript 2.0

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2005, 11:42 AM   #1
mariusR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Unhappy unloading movies that were loaded by an external movie clip

i have a simple problem, which i have not been able to solve for days now - i hope anyone can help me.

i am using loadMovie to load an external movie clip into a target movie clip. i then use unloadMovie to unload it, whenever i have stopped using it. the problem is, that the external movies themselves load other external movies, which do not disappear when i unload the target movie clip.

mymovie -> loads external movie (disappears on unload) -> loads external movie (does not disappear on unload)

i suspect that the external movie clip might load the other external movie clips into _root and somehow bypass my target movie clip. Or maybe it uses loadMovieNum and I have no way to find out into which level it loads the clips. checking the source code (of the external movies) is not an option, because i only have compiled swf files.

please post if anything is unclear.

i hope anyone can save me, since i will have a meeting with my boss soon and it should be working by then (
mariusR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 08:29 AM   #2
[Sx]
>Teaching in Progress<
 
[Sx]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Serbia
Posts: 666
Send a message via ICQ to [Sx] Send a message via MSN to [Sx] Send a message via Yahoo to [Sx]
Default

You call a simple problem one that you can't solve for days? j/k...

Restrict the _root access for the loaded movie by creating a sandbox for it: mc_instance._lockroot = true; ... Unfortunately, that wont prevent movies from loading on other levels, or _level0 directly instead of _root...
__________________
_______________
http://www.TopFlashers.com
[Sx] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 06:40 PM   #3
mariusR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Default

thanks for your idea! unfortunately it does not help in my case. does anyone have another idea? i am getting more and more desperate. my page will probably never work
mariusR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2005, 07:24 PM   #4
bomoh
poly freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 57
Default

I really don't know ... I just did some tests ... it works without any problems ... swf1->swf2 both of them get unloaded

Last edited by bomoh; 11-06-2005 at 07:27 PM.
bomoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:05 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.