Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press
Old 01-02-2006, 05:52 AM   #1
riyan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1
Default help.. ComboBox dropdown appears behind mc

help with component
i have a ComboBox and DateField component inside a movieclip whcih i will call from the library. on the layer underneath the components there is a shape.

//attach form
var myMC:MovieClip = this.createEmptyMovieClip("holderForm, this.getNextHighestDepth());

holderForm.attachMovie("form", "newForm", holderForm.getNextHighestDepth());

my problem is that when i click on the ComboBox the dropdown is beneath the shape it also does that for the DateField.

but if i put the movieclip containing the components by dragging it onto the stage there are no problems.

how do i get around this??

this is the file in using. it's flash 8.
http://www.dijitaq.com/stuff/componentProblem.fla
riyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 10:42 PM   #2
anselon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default nested components

I'm having the same problem. I've been researching it, but am having little success. I have discovered a few specifics that might lead us in the right direction.

I find that if I have the movie clip that containd the compbo box on the timeline (and give it instancename) that my dynamically loaded dropdown works.

If I instead create the movie the dropdowns show up behind all other components.

I looked for a depth property to try to tweak but couldnt find one.
anselon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 10:52 PM   #3
anselon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default sigh...

ok, I remembered having this problem before...

I went back and looked at some preious flas I'd made.

Here's the trick.. dont use "getNextHighestDepth()"

if you specify the depth explicitly (or even use a variable or calculation) it will work fine.

Example of Broken attach:
this.attachMovie("disc_settings", "disc_settinx", this.getNextHighestDepth(), {_x:746, _y:397});

Example of Working attach:

myDepth = 200; // really use some increment
this.attachMovie("disc_settings", "disc_settinx", 1000+myDepth, {_x:746, _y:397});

good luck!
anselon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comboBox : empty dropdown when movie loaded into a parent swf bitterclarence Components 51 07-07-2009 10:01 PM
[HELP] dropdown combobox and weblinks ricoche Components 7 12-10-2005 10:21 AM
ComboBox dropdown level problems. stesmi99 Components 1 12-20-2004 02:43 AM
ComboBox dropDown depth tdoublea Components 0 08-21-2004 09:08 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:49 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.