Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > ActionScript Forums Group > ActionScript 1.0 (and below)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2002, 10:01 PM   #1
thede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Default loadMovie in mcHolder doesn't work

This is driving me nuts! (short trip)

I'm using

loadMovie ("http://www.xxx.com/xxx/xxx/flashscroll.swf", "flashscrollHolder");

to load an image scroller (flashscroll.swf) into the main movie, and when the external SWF loads into the "flashscrollHolder" it doesn't work (the buttons on the scroller don't move the images back and forth)

The flashscroll.swf (image scroller) DOES work when it's loaded onto the main movie in _level1 when the "flashscrollHolder" target container is NOT used, but then I can't position it on the stage where I want it.


arggh. I finally get an image scroller to work how I want, and I STILL can't make it work WHERE I want

Someone... please help??.......

Either...

How do I position the X, Y, of the external SWF on the stage, or

How to make the external SWF play properly when loading into the MC Instance holder?

I have named the MC instance to "flashscrollHolder" in the Instance panel.

Last edited by thede; 03-05-2002 at 10:19 PM.
thede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2002, 10:39 PM   #2
Billy T
Oops I did it again
 
Billy T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,579
Default

check your paths in the actions on the buttons and check out the attached file

cheers
Attached Files
File Type: zip loadmovie.zip (50.8 KB, 814 views)
__________________
Billy
Online Galleries
iPhone Safety App - iStaySafe
Free Flash Video Tutorials
Photo Website Template

Don't email or PM me questions...
Billy T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2002, 11:12 PM   #3
thede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Default

Hi Billy - thanks so much for the movies, I really appreciate your time, and the suggestion to check the paths on the buttons, but I'm afraid I'm still very confused

I don't know if I'm not explaining it right or just not understanding.. which is more likely.

I'm loading an external single SWF into my main Movie . This SWF is an image scroller that is complete and works fine upon testing as a standalone movie.

SWF also works fine when loaded onto the main Movie into a _level1. The buttons work, and the images scroll. But I cannot position the SWF to where I want it on the Movie stage.

When I load the external SWF into a movieclip holder on the main Movie, that is when the buttons don't function and I can't play the scroller (but I can position it).

I followed instructions exactly for loadMovie from the Flash 5 Bible on page 575 if that helps.. Steps 1 - 6, 7, by adding the loadMovie script to the keyframe of the Holder. I also tried it on another layer above the Holder layer.

When you say "check your paths in the actions on the buttons" - check as to what? The SWF works except when it's in the Holder clip.

I'm not using buttons on my mainMovie to load the SWF... if that's what you mean..?


Thanks!

Last edited by thede; 03-05-2002 at 11:24 PM.
thede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2002, 04:50 AM   #4
Billy T
Oops I did it again
 
Billy T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,579
Default

I mean check the actions on the buttons in your external swf

if they have anything like

_root.scroller.dothis

then it needs to be changed to

_root.flashscrollHolder.scroller.dothis

or

_level0.flashscrollHolder.scroller.dothis

hope that helps
__________________
Billy
Online Galleries
iPhone Safety App - iStaySafe
Free Flash Video Tutorials
Photo Website Template

Don't email or PM me questions...
Billy T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2002, 05:28 AM   #5
thede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Default

Hey, Billy... thanks for getting back with me.



Ok... II don't know what I'm doing wrong, I tried and it still isnt working

Recap:
Code: loadMovie ("flashscroll.swf", "flashscrollHolder");
external swf: "flashscroller.swf"
mcHolder for external swf: "flashscrollHolder"


On the buttons on the external "flashscroll.swf", I tried each of these and none work:

=========================

on (release) {
left = "fast";
_root.flashscrollHolder.flashscroll.gotoAndPlay (8);
}


=========================

on (release) {
left = "fast";
_level0.flashscrollHolder.flashscroll.gotoAndPlay (8);
}

==========================

on (release) {
left = "fast";
_level1.flashscrollHolder.flashscroll.gotoAndPlay (8);
}

==========================

I assume where you said "scroller" should be the name of my external SWF without the .swf extension, yes?

Why won't this work for me?....

p.s. I'm using a relative path now in my main Movie to the external SWF as they're all in the same directory and level... still works fine on the _level1 load except I can't position the external swf

Edit - btw, your 'tableau" site looks great, nice work

Last edited by thede; 03-06-2002 at 05:48 AM.
thede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2002, 06:08 AM   #6
Billy T
Oops I did it again
 
Billy T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 8,579
Default

umm no when I said scroller I was referring to an instance name in your external mc

you dont need the name of the external swf in your actions (except for the load movie of course)

if they are not too big send me the files and I'll take a look - [email protected]

cheers
__________________
Billy
Online Galleries
iPhone Safety App - iStaySafe
Free Flash Video Tutorials
Photo Website Template

Don't email or PM me questions...
Billy T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2002, 02:52 PM   #7
thede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Default

Thanks....... =) YGM
thede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2002, 10:52 PM   #8
thede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41
Default

I just had to come back and give big props to you, Billy, for your help.

Thank you!
thede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2007, 02:45 PM   #9
tenthdeity
doesn't have a clue.
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 55
Post for anyone who wondered what happened here...

positioning-wise, I came here looking for how external swfs are positioned when loaded into their external movie clip. This is where Google pointed me, but I generally rely on actionscript.org for my answers and collaboration anyway.

Anyway- when you load an external swf into a movie clip, no matter what the size is (some kind of holder_mc), its registration point will be the top left of the external swf you load in.

In more detail: it's common (and best) practice to create an empty movie clip which will basically be a dot with an instance name on the stage. That dot will be the 0,0 (x and y) position in the external swf you load into that swf.

If I have clipHolder_mc at x=150, y=110 in my main (parent) flash file, and my external swf has a red box at x=0, y=20 with relation to its stage, then when my red box swf is loaded into clipHolder_mc using loadMovie(), the red box will appear on the screen at x=150, y=130.

If for some reason your clip holder isn't just an empty movie clip, keep in mind it will be completely replaced by the external swf you load in- this means that size and content in your clip holder will be completely wiped and replaced with the size and contents of your external swf. This also means you'll need to keep tighter track of the "holder" clip's registration point, because that's still the top-left point for your external swf.

Clear as mud? Great. Happy scripting.

Last edited by tenthdeity; 12-04-2007 at 02:48 PM.
tenthdeity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
loadmovie won't work within a function GhostOfRMS ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 1 01-18-2005 07:40 AM
loadMovie don't work :( i like chips ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 2 10-18-2003 06:43 PM
Problem getting stop() to work with LoadMovie() curmudgeon42 ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 7 12-05-2002 04:27 PM
Resizing Work Area? binar ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 0 07-10-2002 04:13 PM
Using Preloader with loadmovie causes SOUND to not work mw_work ActionScript 1.0 (and below) 0 03-19-2002 12:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:55 AM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.