Home Tutorials Forums Articles Blogs Movies Library Employment Press

Go Back   ActionScript.org Forums > Extensions and Plugins > Components

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2006, 02:03 AM   #1
hangalot
lala
 
hangalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: on the road
Posts: 2,858
Default All People Working With Components Read This Please

look we all know the components are dodgy in flash (the flex ones are much better), but most things are possible with them, and they are not that bad once you get into them

a good piece of advice when working with a component use XRAY
http://www.osflash.org/xray

xray is for free and i have nothing to do with it, so this is not some advertising.

why do i say use xray....well you can inspect your swf at runtime and make changes in it, and this with components is great since 90% of the time you guys just don't know what to target to get the stuff done.

Secondly components take a frame to initialize (as the yanks spell it) so use the doLater method of the components to get and set properties. otherwise it will not work.

good componentising...
__________________
oi poloi
http://www.memorphic.com/news/
hangalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2007, 09:34 PM   #2
rrh
throw a trace() in there
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,982
Default

I am trying to use xray as demonstrated in this tutorial. But it might not be connecting. When I run the file I'm trying to xray, it traces an error like "(283) Connections: false | false" And in Xray, when I click "Go" to take a snapshot, it does nothing.

Update: Now it works. I don't know why.

Last edited by rrh; 01-14-2007 at 10:55 PM. Reason: Update to progress
rrh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 05:38 PM   #3
masood_mj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 33
Default

would you please refer me to some textual documents and Tutorial for this valuable product. tnx a lot
masood_mj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 12:40 PM   #4
acolyte
Senior Member
 
acolyte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 532
Default

mhhh ??

i dont understand

i am using xray alot (most of the time)
its of cource very handy for papervision 3d aswell

just drag the xray connector component on the stage
(if you installed the xray connector correctly there appears a xray connector in your components window)

then launch the movie how ever and open up xray and take a snapshot

evoila
__________________
>>I know my english sucks, ... but I speak german.
(this Signature was stolen from some french guy)

Last edited by acolyte; 10-25-2007 at 12:44 PM.
acolyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2008, 09:40 AM   #5
nidhisaigal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default

hi,

i have used tree component & have displayed the xml data in it.Now i want when i click on the content the corresponding text is displayed on the screen.

code:

var mayTreeDP:XML = new XML();
mayTreeDP.ignoreWhite = true;
mayTreeDP.load("treeXML1.xml");
mayTreeDP.onLoad = function() {
myTree.dataProvider = this.firstChild;
myTree.setSize(200,100);
};
var treeListener:Object = new Object();
treeListener.change = function(evt:Object) {
//trace("the selectd node is"+evt.target.selectedNode);
myText_txt.text = evt.target.selectedNode;
};
myTree.addEventListener("change",treeListener);

XML used:

<node>
<node label="Images">
<node label= "Ships"/>
<node label= "containers"/>
</node>
</node>

plz help
thanks
Nidhi
nidhisaigal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 07:22 PM   #6
dominatrix
ActionScript dominates me
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 33
Default

Components? Wow, just when I thought Flash had a lot going for it already (re: so many things you can do).

We learn something new everyday. This thread has enlighten me, and brought me to attention that you can get addons and extensions for Flash. *Slipped mind*.

Thanks everyone.
dominatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 08:47 AM   #7
encoder
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Posts: 70
Default

yeah. you need this kinda stuff with AS2. but for me it's useless.

if i need more advanced debug, i just code it in. but i usulay don't. CS4 -s features are enough.
encoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multilanguage Text in Components and TextFields xbrotherx ActionScript 2.0 1 03-10-2005 03:01 PM
New Charting Components for FMX2004 blackmamba2 Components 2 12-07-2004 09:07 AM
MX2004 components / Player 6,0,47,0 and lower. Gouks Components 0 09-01-2004 11:50 AM
Newbie: Flash MX style components? MicahM Components 0 06-01-2004 03:54 PM
MX components can't be used with MX2004 components antoniomax Components 3 09-12-2003 02:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:25 PM.

///
Follow actionscriptorg on Twitter

 


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger
Copyright 2000-2013 ActionScript.org. All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site is subject to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.